Patient Reviews

These reviews are independently collected by a third party and are not under Dr. Chal’s control. Click here to read more Dr. Chal reviews on Google.
Submit your review


Best of the best

5 / 5 stars

starstarstarstarstar

8. 21, 2014 by Russell L. Singleton

Like most people with dental issues, having to pay a visit to the local orthodontist never registered high on my “whoopee” meter. In fact I put off going to the dentist for more than six years mainly because of painful and other forgeable experiences that I had suffered in the past However, I soon discovered that there’s a price to pay if you have issues and choose not to seek professional help. Over the last six years, one of my upper front teeth became loose and took on a gangly fang-line appearance. Although it didn’t hurt much, it was dreadful to look at, and I became very self-conscious and took very measure to avoid smiling with my teeth showing. However, on various occasions while posing for pictures, I would momentarily forget about my “fang” and smile proudly for the camera! Needless to say, the results were just awful. It was at this juncture that I knew I had to do something. My original thought was that I needed a dental implant. So, I began searching the internet for a good implant specialist. After extensive research, the clinic that stood out among the “best of the best” (in my opinion) was Dr. Arthur Chal Esthetic and Reconstructive Dentistry.

From the first moment that I walked into Dr. Chal’s office, I felt completely at ease. The entrance is void of awaiting room. What you encounter is a reception area that is extremely cozy and comfortable, and a receptionist (Karen) who is cordial, caring, and openly friendly. During my first official meeting with Dr. Chal, I felt as though I was talking with a life-long friend. He has an innate ability to immediately put you at ease. His concern for my well being was sincere and genuine. As I previously mentioned the main reason for my visit was to see lf I was a good candidate for a dental implant. After thoroughly analyzing and examining my situation, Dr. Chal informed me that an immediate implant was not a viable option for me due to the substantial bone loss I had suffered because of periodontal gum disease. He then informed me that a dental implant could be possible but I would have to undergo a bone graft procedure to rebuild bone, which could be a costly and time consuming process. He further stated that although this procedure had proven to render great results, there also existed the possibility of bone graft failure. Seeing the obvious concern on my face, Dr. Chal proceeded to provide me with other options that would be less costly and take less time to achieve full fruition. I eventually chose the option of removing the tooth and installing a bridge. Of the various types of bridges that are currently used in the dental industry, I chose the zirconia bridge because of its reputation of high strength, durability, and most importantly, as natural simulation to real teeth.

The road to receiving my zirconia bridge began on 27 May 2014 with a prototype that was developed in Dr. Chars office. He and his chair-side assistance and lab tech (Lesa) created a prototype that was literally a sloth of am I immediately began smiling and volunteering to have my picture taken for no apparent reason—anything just to show off my new choppers. Truth be known, I would have been perfectly satisfied with just the prototype if not for Dr. Chal telling me that the zirconia bridge would be 100% better. Well, they say the proof is in the pudding. On 6 Aug 2014, Dr. Chal installed my zirconia bridge. Words cannot express the sheer joy that I felt seeing the final results. I challenge anyone to distinguish the difference between the zirconia bridge and my actual teeth. Dr. Chal, in my honest and humble opinion, is hands down the best dentist on the 3rd Rock from the sun. He made my dental experience an absolute pain free and memorable event. He is truly a professional’s professional and a true gentleman. His professionalism and charisma permeate throughout his entire staff. Special kudos to Lesa (my guardian angel) who ensured that my moments in the chair were comfortable and stress-free, and to Rick who added the final cosmetic touches to my zircons masterpiece. Thank you Dr. Chal for returning my smile.

The Most Knowledgeable TMJ Dentist in the USA

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

6. 28, 2014 by Sheri S.
Dr. Arthur Chal is without question the most knowledgeable dentist in the USA when it comes to TMJ disorders and restorative dentistry. I came to his office after doing internet research to seek relief from my TMJ disease. I was unable to chew or open and close my jaw without extreme pain. After thorough diagnostic studies ordered by Dr. Chal, he constructed an appliance for me to wear and put me on a regimen of anti-inflammatories and pain relievers. Within two weeks of this treatment, my pain was gone and I was chewing and eating normally. I am now able to wear the appliance just at night and have only had one flare-up of my disorder. Dr. Chal will recommend conservative treatment as the first course of action – I was adamantly opposed to jaw surgery and so far, so good! I would recommend this dentist and his wonderful, caring staff to anyone who needs help with TMJ disorders or needs intricate reconstructive procedures or just general dentistry. The tooth cleaning equipment used by Dr. Chal makes that a breeze – a five-minute procedure, which helps TMJ sufferers! I’m very very glad I chose to go with Dr. Chal. He will be taking care of my dental needs as long as he and I are around!

My Chipped Tooth Fixed!

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Mar 11, 2014 by John Way
When I was younger, I was playing with my dog, when all of a sudden he lunges forward and hits me right in my front teeth with his teeth. Fortunately, my dog walked away unharmed, but I was left with a small chip in my front tooth. Many years pass and my family starts seeing Dr.Chal. It was then doctor Chal told me we could fix my teeth putting a very small porcelain binding to the end of the chipped tooth. He stated that the smaller the surface area of the chip was the harder it would be for the adhesion of the binding to work. He then warned me that it might be very difficult for the porcelain binding to stay on once there. But it has now been a year and a half since I have obtained the porcelain binding, and I have experienced absolutely no problems with it thus far. The color of the binding barely differs, to the point where you would have to be up close with a magnifying glass to see any difference, and I can still eat anything I would usually eat without any problem or restriction. It was truly a masterfully done job and I am so pleased with the outcome. Thank you Doctor Chal!

Honest & Knowledgeable

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Apr 15, 2013 by GeorgeW
I was in Phoenix for business when I chipped a molar while eating. A friend, who lives in the area, recommended Dr. Chal and although very busy, he immediately made room in his schedule to look at my broken tooth. After performing a thorough examination, Dr. Chal determined that that although the broken area did not warrant immediate replacement, but still offered several options ranging from a temporary fix to a full procedure. Dr. Chal made it clear that if I chose the temporary fix, it could last anywhere from one week to several years. He indicated that my teeth and gums were in excellent healt, so there was no need to do a crown at this point, but did suggest that once I returned home, I should make an appointment to see my primary dentist for a second opinion.
When I did see my dentist he made it sound as though I was going to lose a limb and needed surgery,a crown or possibly an implant. Knowing this was not the case, I have since quit being his patient.
Although I live almost 1600 miles away, I am grateful for Dr. Chal\’s honesty and straightforwardness, and am impressed with his experience and reputation. As a result, I have decided to make him my permanent dentist. Dr. Chal produces high quality work and uses high quality material; unlike a lot of dental businesses today.
His staff is wonderful and made me feel very welcome. Their main concern was for my well-being, not how I was going to pay!

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Mar 21, 2013 by GYN, MD
Dr. Chal is an excellent dentist. I am a physician at Mayo Clinic and he is the only dentist I will refer patients to. He is excellent at dental implants and everyone I have referred to him has been extremely pleased. He has taken superior care of me and my family as well. I give Dr. Chal my highest recommendation.

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Mar 18, 2013 by PV, MD
I am a Scottsdale physician and have referred Dr. Chal patients for years and all have been extremely pleased with the results. Dr. Chal has treated me and my entire family for almost 10 years and we could not be happier. I underwent placement of zirconium crowns and the results were excellent. Dr. Chal is professional, personal and highly compenent with some of the best credentials I have seen. I could not recommend him more highly.

Smiling Again

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Jan 28, 2013 by Thomas Cochill
January 15, 2013

Arthur Chal, DDS, FAGD, FICOI
4715 North 32nd Street, Suite 106
Phoenix, Arizona 85018-3300

Dear Dr. Chal:

Recently my wife said to me You are aware, arent you, that people are commenting on how often you smile now. Being the brilliant conversationalist that I am, I replied, Really? That started a conversation on how much your recent restoration of my upper teeth changed how I present myself to people. Frankly, before I had the work done I would have laughed at any body who suggested that having the restoration done would change my public behavior. I was wrong and you, and my wife, were right.

It is only fair to note that it was my wife (once married to a dentist) who spent the time to research dentists and determine that you have the best reputation for restorative work; both for the finest examples of pure cosmetic dentistry as well as for the most difficult major structural restorative cases. Because of her experience assisting in a dental practice (in another state) she has the insight and ability to weigh the experience and results of those she researched. You were at the top of the list.

Once she selected you we went to you for what we would consider routine dental treatment, examinations, single crowns, etc. This gave us the opportunity to observe your office environment, interact with your staff, your personal manner of practice, your technical capabilities, the state of the art of your equipment and the sources you used ? lab, etc. What we found was that you are at the pinnacle of your profession in all these areas.

My wife had you do restorative work first. I waited to see how pleased she would be with the results. On a scale of 1 to 10, she said you scored 12. I then decided that it was time for me to go forward as well ? the results are equally as good. In a nutshell, both my wife and I heartily, and unreservedly, recommend you as the number one choice for any dental work; but most certainly the only choice for restorative dentistry.

Sincerely yours,

Bonnie and Tom Cochill

Excellent Treatment

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Jan 27, 2013 by Pier
My family and I have been patients of Dr. Chal’s excellent dentistry practice since the mid-1990s. He wasn’t the first dentist in the Valley we visited, but he was certainly the best. In fact, now that I am living far from Phoenix I still visit his office when I am back home to have a check-up and say hi. If you are looking for a friendly and honest dentist, engaging and kind assistants and staff, then this is the place for you. I’ve been to some bad dentist’s in the past and Dr. Chal has always gave me honest and helpful advice about how to find solutions to my oral afflictions. I can’t recommend a better place!

Pam in Colorado

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Jan 26, 2013 by Pamela True
I am in the earlier stages with Dr. Chal and his wonderful staff with a full mouth restoration. How I got to a full mouth restoration was totally through a complete derailment of my entire mouth, gums,teeth and jaw by prior dentists. Although I was far from perfect, I had a healthy mouth, healthy gums and teeth and a wonderful smile that was completely destroyed by prior dentists through greed and pride. One would be in shock to see what these dentists put into my mouth. It was sheer torture for 2-1/2 years with massive financial and personal loss. My face a mess, my eyes half closed, extreme facial pain, jaw pain, gums destoyed, inability to physically smile or even close my mouth at rest, a destruction of my natural beauty and smile. I even lost my speech at one point, uninteligeable, lost my job and became unemployable. I had to isolate myself for a very long time because of social shame. I was paralized and ready to give up on life.

Dr. Chal’s approach is all encompassing and he thrives on dealing with difficult cases. He is an incredibly knowledgeable dentist in all areas of dentistry. His office is not a fast track in and out approach. He is very careful about diagnosis in the beginning and sending you to stellar specialists in different areas of the restoration taking a team approach.

With my past experiences, there are many attributes that I enjoy in his practice. His assistant Lesa is very nurturing and very knowledgeable. She makes sure that you are comfortable at all times. Dr. Chal’s ceramist is a wonderful gentle natured man that is an artist to the nth degree and he listens to the patient. It is so nice to have a personal interaction with the ceramist. I have had a full set of temps thus far and they are so beautiful and fit my margins so perfectly that I can’t even imagine how delighted I will be when I get to have the beautiful artfully crafted zirconium porcelain crowns.

Dr. Chal also is a gracious listener. I have been through so much horrific dentistry and torture that he is patient with me in respect to letting me express my concerns and fears and puts me at ease showing me that he is not like the rest, he has all the bases covered and your complete and healthy recovery is his main objective.

There is so much assembly line dentistry these days that Dr. Chal’s approach is so refreshing. He takes an old fashion conservative approach and has the knowledge in all areas of dentistry through study, care and experience rather than some weekend courses. He and his ceramist have studied under the best and they use the best and most beautiful ceramics available instead of some of the newer ceramics that don’t even look or feel like real teeth. He and Rick are masters and this is a dieing art in dentistry.

One of the most wonderful things about Dr. Chal’s practice is that he has a way of treating patients one patient at a time. When you are in his chair or in his office for that matter, you are the only one in the world. There are no other patients there period. You get his and Lesa’s undivided attention and this is an amazingly nurturing and loving feeling to get that kind of attention in today’s big box dentistry or anywhere for that matter.

I have a ways to go with Dr. Chal and his team but I can already say with confidence that they have literally saved my life and I am looking forward to getting my beauty and my life back, along with a comfortable bite, little to no TMJ, no facial pain and a beautiful smile. I will keep you posted.

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Jan 24, 2013 by Julie Espinoza
From the minute I walked into the office I knew I was in good hands. Dr. Chal’s expertise and confidence in handling difficult dental cases is remarkable. Now with my dental makeover complete, I am not self conscious about smiling. I live in Wyoming and dentists and hygienists who have seen the work that Dr. Chal has performed on me are amazed and in awe. I constantly get compliments on what an absolutely beautiful smile I have; and the best part is people think they are my natural teeth. If you demand perfection – Dr. Chal is the dentist for you!

Update

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Jan 13, 2013 by Yvonne Wolf
Dr. Arthur Chal represents all facets of excellent dentistry. To the layman, dentistry tends to be perceived as being focused primarily on human teeth; however, this philosophy cannot be further from the truth, and is exactly the reason I go to Dr. Chal. Not only is Dr. Chal is an expert in his field: he has 38 years experience in both practice and serving as an educator. More importantly, Dr. Chal considers the doctor-patient relationship a driving force in maintaining long-term clientele. His holistic approach and team of experts allows the patient to experience phenomenal care and results. Unlike what you experience in a lot of dental businesses, you are not a file number, but a person who receives the best care possible. Dr. Chal has changed my life profoundly. As a recipient of poor dentistry, I suffered greatly under dentists who were more concerned about the bottom line. My mouth was literally falling apart. I am part of the way through a complete restoration and could not be more elated. I am no longer afraid to smile, have my picture taken and, I look so much younger. Under Dr. Chals care, and his team, today, I can show off my healthy and beautiful smile.

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Nov 14, 2012 by Lani A.
Absolutely the best dentist I have ever been to! I came to Phoenix just over two years ago with severe TMJ (TMD), and an entire mouth full of serious problems… mostly from poor dentistry from my childhood and college at NYU. My case was one of the most difficult ones on record, and I was in a lot of pain. When I first visited Arthur Chal, it was the first time I ever felt confident that I would end up with a great, pain free smile. He really educated me on what I was facing and always told me all of my options. Even more, when he realized the extent of my dental issues, he was able to call on a team of experts in the Valley so that the proper care and attention could be paid to each of my areas of concern, from root canals, to gum surgery, to wisdom teeth extraction, to hand crafted crowns for every tooth. I am truly grateful that I found Dr. Chal and decided to pursue care with him and his team- without them I know I would be destined to a life of difficulty and pain. At 24, as one of his youngest-ever patients with serious dental problems, I am happy to say that I have a set of beautiful new teeth that truly feel like my own, and that will last me a lifetime. Now that my process has been completed, I look forward to smiling with confidence, and the continued care that this professional team will be giving me. Dr. Chal receives my highest recommendation.

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Feb 14, 2012 by Billy Greer
I came to Dr. Chal in excruciating pain caused by complications from TMJ. After fitting me with an appliance, my pain was completely gone in 2 days and has not returned.. Dr. Chal and his staff are professional in every sense of the word and he makes every effort to insure that you are proactive in all decision making regarding your treatment. His approach is very conservative and he has presented me with alternatives at every stage of treatment. The team involved in my treatment has been truly impressive and I feel that I’ve received the best treatment available at any price.

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Jan 18, 2012 by Yvonne W.
Dr. Chal basically saved my mouth from an imminent implosion, a result from shoddy and/or unnecessary dental work. Dr. Chal has a miracle team who has performed some wonderful work on me. I have much more work to be completed, but thus far, Dr. Chal has met and exceeded my expectations. He does charge a bit more than other dental offices, but after some very bad experiences, I truly believe that you get what you pay for, and he is definitely worth every penny! So much so, that even if I move across the country, I plan to keep him as my primary & only Dentist. Dr. Chal is currently treating several crowns and the upper posterior portion of my mouth. Dr. Chal is like an architect designing a building: there is much planning, analysis and discussion before moving forward. Moreover, Dr. Chal makes it a point to keep in continuous contact with members of his dream team, whether in person or via telephone, to make sure that your case is being attended with the utmost care. I will continue to keep you abreast as my case progresses, and maybe even include a before and after picture.

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Dec 28, 2010 by Ed Ochylski
I totally agree with Dr. Chal’s comparison of my original teeth loss to an arm or limb amputation. He also compared the implant procedure to an organ transplant. That being said, finally after 4yrs of absolute misery with dentures and pain, I feel like a “whole” person again. My disposition has been transformed from “doom and gloom” to confident, comfortable and content! My thanks and admiration go out to the team at Dr Chal’s dentistry. I am a “New” man now. Thank you Dr Chal.

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Nov 20, 2010 by Peter John
Dr. Chal is a perfectionist to the nth degree, He has been my only dentist for about 20 yrs, starting out with general maintenance and progressing to fully restoring my teeth to what they should be. I finally have a smile that I can show with confidence and a nice, clean bite pattern when eating something as simple as a slice of bread. My whole mouth was reconstructed with braces, rubber bands[thousands of them] & crowns. I am 68 yrs old and still have all of my own teeth[at least the roots are mine]. Over the many years of clenching and grinding I had driven the teeth into the jawbones and they were just little stubs exposed. Dr. Chal was able to do restorative work on these and they were gradually pulled back out to the point he could repair and crown those that needed them. I can not write enough to say how much I appreciate the time and patience he put into my mouth. The restoration took approx 3 yrs time and wearing braces when you are 60 yrs old is no fun and my wife became expert at inserting those thousands of rubber bands. The end result was well worth it. I would highly recommend Dr. Chal to anyone.

5 / 5 stars

starstarstarstarstar

Nov 02, 2010 by RRV
Dr. Chal is worth the prices he charges. I and several people I know have been to him to do restorative work because we were told he was one of the best cosmetic dentists in the world. My veneers now look the way they are supposed to. I would recommend him to anyone that asked me for a superb dentist.

Perfect synthesis of Art & Science

5 / 5 stars

starstarstarstarstar

Sep 18, 2010 by Patti Raya
When I think of Dr. Chal I think of his elegant ability to blend the best of art and science in dentistry. I have had the good fortune of being a patient of Dr. Chal’s for 15 years. He brings the very best to his patients in all aspects of his practice, including the best and latest materials and techniques. I know I am in the best hands available when I am in his care. I have learned the importance of good dental care through his helpful pedagogy. Dr. Chal and his team are perfect 10 in my book. I recommend them to anyone who wants to enjoy the very best in dentistry.

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Sep 10, 2010 by Anita
For those of you who are (were) like me, afraid of dentistry and outcome you must read this. Having had years of not just mediocre but poor dentistry performed and inconsiderate dentists I had put of my dental work many years, until that moment I could no longer put it of. As the wife of a skilled surgeon I know the poor work that often is performed in many specialties and I finally returned to see Dr. Chal who was the only one I trusted. He and his staff held my hand throughout the process and not only helped me overcome my fears but gave me the ultimate beautiful smile I had hoped to receive. I now live back in Europe and I am proud of this smile that you see rarely. It is a natural smile and Dr. Chal gave me not only the aesthetic result but also the reconstructive result and I am therefore able to eat without worrying about what could happen to my teeth, or eat without any heat or cold sensitivity. Thank you Dr. Chal and your wonderful staff! Not only for your incredible results but also for being a very professional, honest and compassionate Doctor.

1 / 5 stars

star

Aug 15, 2010 by Anonymous
Dr. Chal’s office is very clean and in a good location, however, he is very expensive for the work that he does. Overall, I would not recommend him.

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Aug 06, 2010 by JW
I have been a patient of Dr. Chal’s for about 20 years. When I started seeing him I didn’t know how bad my dental health was. I had gingivitis and didn’t know it as well as other restorations that needed to be done. It took several years, tackling one problem at a time because I could not afford the time or money to do it all at once but now I am in a stable phase and have had perfect check-ups for years…..something I never had in my entire life. He and his staff also instructed me on proper care to maintain my dental health instead of just fixing the problems. Thank you Dr. Chal for making me want to smile again!

5 / 5 stars
starstarstarstarstar

Mar 22, 2010 by Nancy
I went to Dr. Chal hoping to obtain a good dental exam and general dental care knowing my dentition was showing signs of wear. His thoroughness and commitment to excellence far exceeded my expectations. His attention to detail has resulted in a beautiful result that I never could have even imagined possible. I love my new smile!! Dr. Chal is a true dental professional with extraordinary talent. I highly recommend Dr. Chal for any and all oral health care needs.

Related Pages